Our evening opening arrangements for Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays have now changed. 

On Monday and Tuesday evenings members will be able to use the Library until 9pm.

On Wednesday evenings the Library will normally close at 5.30pm to help support evening venue hire which is an important source of income for us.

On many occasions, however, we will be able to stay open until 9pm as often public events are sufficiently self-contained that they can be hosted in the first floor reading rooms without restricting member access to other parts of the Library. Where this is the case, the Library - with the exception of the Reading Room, Writers' Room and Sackler Study - will remain open to members until 9pm. 

We will provide regular updates in advance on this website page and via our monthly newsletters about the Wednesday dates where we are able to offer later opening hours .


Upcoming Dates

The Library will be open until 9pm on the following Wednesdays. Please note, the Reading Room, Writers' Room and Sackler Study will not be open:

Wednesday 11 December


Summary of Revised Opening Hours

Mondays: 9.30am-9.00pm

Tuesdays: 9.30am-9.00pm

Wednesdays: 9.30am-5.30pm; or 9.30am-9.00pm when events in the Reading Room are compatible with maintaining member access to other parts of the Library

Thursdays: 9.30am-5.30pm

Fridays: 9.30am-5.30pm

Saturdays: 9.30am-5.30pm

Sundays: Closed


Christmas and New Year Opening

Monday 23 December: 9.30am-9pm

Tuesday 24 December: CLOSED

Wednesday 25 December: CLOSED

Thursday 26 December: CLOSED

Friday 27 December: CLOSED

Saturday 28 December: 9.30am-5.30pm

Monday 30 December: 9.30am-9pm

Tuesday 31 December: 9.30am-5.30pm

Wednesday 1 January: CLOSED

Thursday 2 January: 9.30am-5.30pm